Fethard News
Home | Current News | Local Information | Aerial Views | Photo Gallery | Emigrants' Newsletter
Historical Society | Local Development Plan | Recommended Links | Donations
| Phone Directory
Fethard on Facebook | Fethard on YouTube
| View Calvary Cemetery Records
| Parish Church Live

Patrician Presentation Secondary School
Student Awards 2000

2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001

Friday September 29th, 2000, was the official celebration opening mass of the year 2000 for the Patrician Presentation Secondary School in Fethard. This millennium year marked the initiation of a new 'awards ceremony' for students. Principal, Mr. Ernan Britton, welcomed all in his opening speech — staff, pupils, board of management, parents association and parents. he particularly welcomed Fr. Michael Barry, celebrant, and Canon James Power P.P., Mr T.J. Maher, national president of Macra, and Mr Michael Woodlock, Flancare, past pupils along with Fr. Barry. He emphasised that this was not just a day to celebrate the opening of a new school year, but also a day to remember two colleagues who had died in service — Mrs Anne Maher and Sr. Breda O'Connor. A commemorative picture was then unveiled in the presence of Mr Paddy Maher and the Presentation Sisters, to be displayed in the school in acknowledgement of their dedicated service.
The fourth, fifth and sixth year choir sang joyful yet meaningful hymns accompanied by Kevin Hickey, musical director for the transition year shows. The beautiful 'Atlas' piano was kindly loaned for the day by John Shortall, also a past pupil. The soloists from the pupils were Jodie Gilpin, Kersty McCarthy, and Lisa O'Donnell. Ross Maher and Daryn O’Meara assisted Kevin on guitar.

Photographed after the Fethard Patrician Presentation Students Awards ceremony last week Front L to R: Mary Gorey, winner of the Credit Union sponsored Young Business and Enterprise Perpetual Trophy; Fr. Michael Barry, past pupil; Mr Ernan Britton, school principal; Michael Woodlock, past pupil and sponsor of awards; T.J. Maher, past pupil and guest speaker; Anthony Keane, winner of the ‘Pádraig Pearse Perpetual Memorial Cup’. Back L to R: Alison Holohan (joint best attendance 4th year); Sarah Kennedy (1st year pupil of the year); Emmet Burke (best attendance 3rd year); Evelyn O'Connor (3rd year pupil of the year); Eoin Fanning (5th year pupil of the year); Una Prendergast (2nd year pupil of the year); Brian Kennedy (best attendance 1st year), Marie Holohan (sports award).

Mr T.J. Maher then presented certificates for excellence in attendance to Brian Kennedy, Claire Ryan, Emmet Burke, Bill Hunt, Ali Holohan and Eoin Fanning. Marian Gilpin, on behalf of the board of directors of Fethard and District Credit Union, then presented a perpetual trophy for business and enterprise to Mary Gorey for her involvement and success in the 'Young Entrepreneurs' competition.
Past pupil Mr Michael Woodlock then proceeded to present awards which he had sponsored himself; the awards for excellence and contribution to class year groups last term went to Sarah Kennedy (1st year), Una Prendergast (2nd year), Evelyn O'Connor (3rd year), Eoin Fanning (5th year) and David Kennedy (6th year).

Anthony Keane, Kilmore, winner of the Perpetual Padraig Pearse Centenary trophy presented by Mr. Ernan Britton (Principal) to Anthony for his excellence in Irish language and history in the Junior Cert class at Fethard Patrician Presentation Secondary School.

Rebecca Carroll (5th year) received a replica of the Padraig Pearse Perpetual Trophy that she had won last year. This year’s winner of the trophy, awarded for excellence in Irish, History and English in the Junior Cert, was Anthony Keane, Kilmore. Conor McCarthy and Marie Holohan, both now at college, received sports awards for football and camogie respectively. Ian O'Connor and Elaine Williams were declared 'head boy' and 'head girl' for the new academic year 2000-2001.

Fethard Patrician Presentation Secondary School appointed their first class prefects at the presentation of awards ceremony held at the school last week. L to R: Elaine Williams (head girl), Ian O'Connor (head boy), Lisa Hanrahan, Ross Maher and Aideen O'Donnell. Frank Nugent was also appointed prefect.

A note of sadness was evident in the mass that was dedicated not only to the memory of Anne Maher and Sr. Breda but also to Jason Barron, a 19 year-old past pupil who was killed so tragically last weekend.
The ceremony concluded at 1pm with the general consensus of opinion that it had been a day of looking forward to the future as well as remembering all who had done so much in the past — the Brothers and Sisters, Timmy O'Connor, Bro Albert — all were remembered with fondness and gratitude.


This site is maintained by Joe Kenny, Rocklow Road, Fethard, Co. Tipperary, Ireland.