Fethard News
Home | Current News | Local Information | Aerial Views | Photo Gallery | Emigrants' Newsletter
Historical Society | Local Development Plan | Recommended Links | Donations
| Phone Directory
Fethard on Facebook | Fethard on YouTube
| View Calvary Cemetery Records
| Parish Church Live

Patrician Presentation Secondary School
Student Awards 2001

2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2000

Fethard Patrician Presentation Secondary School Awards 2001. Back L to R: Fr. A.B. Kennedy, Jennifer Frewen, Mary Gorey, Sinead O'Brien, Gerard Walsh, Ross Maher, Eoin Doyle, Glen Burke, Julieanne Smith, Mark Sullivan, Susanne Gorey, Mr Ernan Britton (school principal). Front L to R: Miriam Carroll, Derek Shine, Mary Griffin, Claire Ryan, Sarah Kennedy, Linda Kenny, Sarah Mai Ahearne, Jack Kenny and Evelyn O'Connor.

Photographed at the presentation of the 2001 students awards at Fethard Patrician Presentation Secondary School on 26th October are L to R: Our new Parish Priest Fr Tom Breen, Fr A. B. Kennedy (past pupil), our new Prior Fr Gerry Horan OSA and Canon James Power.

On October 26, the principal, Mr Ernan Britton, staff members and students assembled in the school hall to celebrate a mass of thanksgiving which preceded this year’s awards ceremony.

The celebrant of the mass was Fr. Tom Breen, and co-celebrating Fr. Gerry Horan OSA, our new prior, and Fr. A.B. Kennedy, a past pupil. Canon James Power also took part in the celebration. A number of parents were among the congregation which included Rita Kenny, chairperson of the Parents Association; Larry Kenny, board of management, and Sisters Annunciata and Christine from the Presentation Convent.

The altar reflected the soft glow of autumn flowers and sunshine as the senior choir of the school, assisted by a third-year group, followed through the theme of thanksgiving with such appropriate numbers as ‘Sing to the Mountains’ and ‘Give Thanks with a Graceful Heart’. A moving solo of ‘The Clouds Veil’ was sung by Jodie Gilpin (5th year) and Peter Kenny (6th year) brought a tear to the eye as he sang and accompanied himself on piano to the John Lennon ‘Imagine’.

Pianist and accompanist was Kevin Hickey, who is musical director of the school shows, and the piano was kindly loaned for the occasion by ‘Shortall Pianos’, Fethard. At the conclusion of the mass, principal Mr Ernan Britton thanked all concerned in the preparation and running of this lovely occasion. He then invited Mrs Rita Kenny to open the awards ceremony. Rita spoke fondly of her days in Fethard Secondary School and said that she was glad that her children also had the opportunity of being there. She particularly mentioned the nice atmosphere which emanated from the school. Rita presented the following awards: Progress in Learning Award to Derek Shine; Student of the Year Awards to Mary Griffin and Sarah Mai Ahearn (1st Year), Sarah Kennedy and Linda Kenny (2nd Year), Miriam Carroll (3rd Year), Jennifer Frewen (5th Year).

Mr Britton then presented the Padraig Pearse Trophy to Claire Ryan for achieving a Grade ‘A’ in History and Irish at Junior Cert level. The best achievement at Leaving Cert went to Eoin Doyle and a special achievement award for Junior Cert results was presented to Jack Kenny. Father A.B. Kennedy was then called upon. He addresses all assembled with nostalgia tinged with humour as he remembered his school days in Fethard, particularly when the schools amalgamated and the occasional ‘hop’ took place in either the Brothers’ school or the Nuns. He encouraged the students to enjoy their young lives and their school days. Being a late vocation himself, he spoke of biding one’s time and there will be an answer. He is now teaching himself in Portumna, Galway. He presented the best attender’s awards to: Susanne Gorey (1st Year), Mary Gorey (2nd Year), Mark Sullivan (3rd Year), Evelyn O’Connor and Emmet Burke (4th Year), Paul Walshe and Adrian Morrissey (5th Year). Denis Burke then presented the special sports award to Julianne Smith, and Paddy Broderick presented a special sports award to Glen Burke.

Marian Gilpin, chairperson of Fethard and District Credit Union, presented the business and enterprise award, sponsored by the Credit Union, to Gerard Walsh. A replica was presented to Mary Gorey – last year’s winner. Justin McGree then introduced the Gaisce Awards – the President’s prize for personal and social development. The recipients were Ross Maher received a silver award; Jennifer Frewen and Sinead O’Brien received bronze awards.

Finally Mr Britton presented pine to the prefects 2001-2002: Michael Walsh (1st Year), Paul Walsh (3rd Year), Rhya Roberts (4th Year), Jennifer Frewen (5th Year), Rebecca Carroll (Head Girl) and Paul Cleary (Head Boy).

The ceremony concluded at 1pm and all departed to commence the beginning of the October mid-term break. Congratulations to all.

Mrs Madge and Mr Jimmy Hurley, Congress Terrace, photographed with their grand-daughter, Sarah Mai Ahearne.


This site is maintained by Joe Kenny, Rocklow Road, Fethard, Co. Tipperary, Ireland.